My new in-car video recorder Vosonic GV6300

So, the other day I bought an in car video recorder. It is something that has been at the back of my mind for some time now. This is my review of the in-car video recorder Vosonic GV6300 model.

A couple of months ago, I was involved in an accident on the PIE (Pan Island Expressway). There was a car crash on to the opposite side of the road, so naturally, cars in my lane started slowing down to gawk. A BMW had crashed into the central barrier, creating a dent and spilling basketball sized pieces of cement onto our side. The cars in front of me slowed to a crawl, and I duly followed.

The Chevrolet Aveo behind me was obviously still enjoying the show and hit the back of my car. I cursed aloud, and added a few more swear words for good measure when it hit me a second time as the car behind him gave him a taste of his own medicine.

The Chevrolet driver was a middle-aged uncle and he gave me a sheepish grin as we walked out of our vehicles to exchange contact details. I told him that he should just claim from the car behind him.

Fortunately, I could still drive over to the workshop. I spent 30 minutes reporting the details and sketching a diagram of the accident. The bookshop informed me that repairs could only start upon confirmation of liability.

A couple of days later, I got a phone call from my workshop telling me that the other parties insurer was asserting 50-50 responsibility. Abusurd – this was in my mind, an open and shut case, and I was obviously the innocent party here. I told him that the insurer must be joking, and insisted that they bear full costs. Thankfully, they agreed to do so after another few days of negotiation.

This got me thinking. Obviously there must be many cases where the car behind was not always at fault. I need some kind of objective evidence to protect myself in ambiguous incidents, or from the creative storytelling of the other driver.

I started doing some research on this. The first brand that I came across was called Vigi Drive vehicle video recorder.

A new model Vigi Drive MT-DR9 had just been released, but at 439 dollars, it was a bit too pricey for me.

I then found a guy selling a similar product online in many popular Singapore car forums. He advertises practically everywhere. Just do a search, you can’t miss him. Apparently, his product has the same specifications as Vigi Drive’s MT-DR9 model, but only costs 320 dollars. Sounds like a good deal to me. I gave him a call to arrange an appointment, but as luck would have it, he had just sold the last unit.

No choice, Vigi Drive it is. I specially drove down to the Singapore AA shop at Kallang Leisure Park because I later found out they had a special offer for AAS (Automobile Association of Singapore) members at just 359 dollars for Vigi Drive MT-DR9.

An older Vigi Drive MT12 was also available at AA for just $199, but it could only accept memory card of up to 4GB whereas the newer models can take up to 32GB.

And it was there that I saw the Vosonic GV6300 car video recorder.

It claimed an even higher resolution than the Vigi Drive MT-DR9 (720×480 vs 640×480 pixels), and was attractively priced at just $270. The only issue is that it only comes in an unappealing Kermit green colour. For a saving of $90, I could live with that.

It was such a novel experience watching a video of my own driving. Haven’t recorded anything exciting yet, but I promise to upload some videos soon. I’ll also do a review of the Vosonic GV6300 in the near future.

Why not consider one too, for your own peace of mind?

About Hun Boon

A little bit of this, a little bit of that.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My new in-car video recorder Vosonic GV6300

  1. Arthur Wei says:

    Hi, Hun Boon
    I am a high school student and recently doing an project about the government intervention to hybrid cars in singapore. And I have seen the one you posted on Star Bamboo, called “Why is singapore discouraging Hybrid Cars?” on June 13, 2007 and noticed that you are the expert of this field. Therefore, if possible, I am wondering whether you can share me further information about the recent government interventions for hybrid cars? Anyways, if possible can you please live me your e-mail and so I can ask you further questions about it? If possible, Thank You!
    Sincerely,
    Arthur

    • Hun Boon says:

      Hi Arthur,

      Thanks for your message. I’m just an interested individual, but I do know people who are much more knowledgeable about this field than me.

      I’ll drop you a message via Twitter. It’s a new experiment I’m trying out, so bear with me.

      Cheers!
      Hun Boon

  2. Pingback: Top 5 reasons to install an in-car video recorder | Hun Boon's Blog

  3. Arthur Wei says:

    Hi, Hun Boon

    Sorry for replying late because I had the discussion with my supervisor about it lately to came up with some questions, and this is my main research question: ‘To what extend does government intervention in the market for hybrid cars, lead to change in demand?’

    Can I have you email, please because I have some more direct questions to this topic want to ask you but I am not familiar with using twitter? Thanks

    Sincerely,
    Arthur

  4. Edith says:

    Hi Hun Boon

    How’s the in-car video recorder GV6300 so far?

    • Hun Boon says:

      Hi Edith,

      Generally adequate. The resolution, especially during motion and low light, can be much improved. Hope to see a new generation of such video recorders soon.

      Have you gotten one yourself?

Leave a Reply

